Crelate's Duplicate Detection feature allows you to configure the system to either prevent duplicate records from being created, or warn you when you are about to create a duplicate record.

To enable duplicate detection:

  1. Click Settings on the left side of the page
  2. Click Duplicate Detection under Data Quality. The duplicate detection settings window will appear on the right side of the page.
  3. You can enable duplicate detection on Contact records, Company records, or Job records. To turn duplicate detection on for a record-type, just click the Basic/Custom toggle so that Custom is highlighted.

After you turn it On/Custom, you'll see a few additional options you may customize.

  1. Any - In the example above, with 'any' selected, Crelate will match a duplicate for their Name OR Email Address. This is ideal if you are importing contacts and don't typically have an email address (think when using the Chrome Extension to parse from social media).
  2. All - All will require all available fields to match in order for a duplicate to flagged. In this above example, you would need to have a contact match based on Name AND Email Address in order for Crelate to catch as a duplicate.

For most users, when setting up duplicate detection on contacts, we suggest that you select either just "Email Addresses", or select both "Email Addresses" and "Name".

Once you select which fields to match on, then you can also optionally check the "Allow detected duplicate records to be saved anyway" checkbox. If this is checked, the system will not prevent you from saving duplicate records. It will still warn you when a duplicate record is detected, but will give you the option to save the record anyway. If this is not checked, then when you attempt to create a duplicate record you must either cancel the record creation, or you can choose to merge the new record with the existing duplicate.

What happens when a duplicate record is detected?

This depends on how the duplicate record is being created.

  • If you attempt to create a record from the "New Contact" window, then once you click "Save", you will see a popup letting you know that your new contact is a duplicate of an already existing contact. Your options are to either cancel, or merge with the existing contact. If you have the "allow saving anyway" option checked, then you can also just ignore the warning and save the duplicate record anyway.
  • If you attempt to create a record via resume import, upon the completion of those resumes being parsed, you'll be brought to your 'import' screen. From there, you'll see a listing of all contacts that were successfully imported and those that were flagged as duplicates.
  • If you are emailing a resume into the system (by sending a resume to your @crelate.net email address), then Crelate does not give you any immediate response indicating that a duplicate was detected. Instead, duplicate records will show up in the "Data Quality" section.
    To view duplicate records in data quality:
    1) Click Settings, then click the blue Data Quality tile. Duplicate records will appear in the table on the right.
    2) Click on a contact and then click Merge Into to merge the selected record with its duplicate. Or, if "Allow saving anyway" is checked, you can click Allow Dupe(s) to remove the contact from the data quality section.
  • If a duplicate application is submitted through the job portal.
    When a candidate applies for a job through the portal, a new Application record is created and associated with the job he/she applied for. and no duplicate detection is done on applications.

    However, once you either approve or reject the application, the system will convert the application record into a contact record. When it converts the application to a contact, the system will always perform a duplicate check on the name and email address fields (i.e., it checks to see if there is already a contact in the system with the exact same first name, last name, and email address). If a duplicate contact is found, then the user who is approving or rejecting the application will be given a choice of how to handle the duplicate (either merge the application with the existing contact, or just create a new contact).

    Note: This duplicate check is always performed when approving or rejecting an application, even if you have duplicate detection turned off for contact records! If you have duplicate detection turned on, then it will check for duplicates based on email address and name (as it always does), and also check for duplicates based on whatever fields are selected in the duplicate detection settings.

What's Next?

Want to learn more about managing flagged duplicates? Check out our content below!

Did this answer your question?